Uberring Right Along

OK, so where did I leave off?  Oh yeah, after my first ride the rest of Musikfest would be a breeze, or at least I thought it would be.  At first, it was going great and it was where I first learned about “Surge” pricing. Surge pricing is your friend, at least from a drivers standpoint.

For those that dont know, Surge pricing is when there is a greater demand for rides than there are drivers in a certain area.  When this happens, they increase the rates.  Great if you are driving, but not so great if you are a rider.  At one point, I was actually looking to end my night and head home when I got pinged to pick someone up right by my house.  Turns out they were heading to the festival and I guessed they planned on having a few beverages, so they didn’t want to drive.  Well, I picked them up and the drive of about 4-5 blocks, normally about $4, but with the Surge pricing that night, the fair was $15.  Total trip time was about 3 mins.  At that point, I figured I could get use to this and decided I would stay out for a while longer.

My next ride was a couple, who had enough “festing” and just need a ride home. Turns out they were the Aunt (Uma) and Uncle (John) of a younger couple, who were staying behind to enjoy the festival a little longer.  I drop them off and then head back towards the festival.  I got a few more rides before getting pinged to pick up a man and his wife.  We got to talking a little during the ride and they tell me, that they were down there with his wife’s Aunt.  At that point, I ask, is our Aunt’s name Uma, and sure enough, it was. Turns out, it was the younger couple of the Aunt and Uncle that I had picked up earlier.  So I drop them off and decided I will see if I can get 1 more rider, before I head home – big mistake on my part.

There is a local music venue by us and I guess a concert had just ended.  I get pinged to pick up a couple who were heading home for the night.  Now, I don’t think I have mentioned this before, but with Uber, as a driver, you don’t know where the rider wants to go until they get in the car.  Turns out they live about 35miles away and it is already close to midnight.  At this point, I really wished I hadn’t decided to take one more ride.  So they get in the car and I start to head out on our way.  After a little conversions, they both got quiet. Turns out they both had fallen asleep in the backseat of the car.  Thank god they woke up when I pulled into the driveway.  I really didn’t want to have to be the one to wake them.  At that point, they got out of the car, I backed out of the driveway, turned the app off and went Uberring Right Along, all they way home.

13431167924

Photo by Suzanne Drake Photography

*Names of the riders were changed to protect the innocent

  • On a side note, if you are looking to try Uber for the first time as a rider, feel free to use this promotion code – 5vfz542wue and your first ride will be on me.
One thought on “Uberring Right Along

  1. Pingback: Sorry Seems to be the “Uber” Word | My Uber Life

Leave a Reply

