How to Succeed in Uber Without Really Trying

When I first started Uberring the only time I turned the app on was when I specifically set time aside to get rides.  I never really thought about just turning it on while I was running errands or even to and from work.  Now, is some of my other post, you have heard about the stories of picking up High School kids who were going to school (see Uberity), which were always quick rides.  After doing this for awhile, I got to thinking, why not try it on my way home from work.

I might have mentioned this before, but while I live in Bethlehem PA, I work in NJ.  The first time I tried Uber on my way home, things were great.  It was Surge pricing, I got 2 short rides and the last one was actually on my way home.  I thought, this is going to be awesome.  Well, let me tell you, the “awesomeness” didn’t last long.

After the success I had the first time, I was eager to try again.  So, the next day, when I left worked I turned the app on.  At first, it was fine.  A short ride close to the office and there was surge pricing, SCORE.  Just as I drop the first ride off, I get pinged again, although this time the surge pricing had just ended.  This should have been a sign that things were not going to go my way.  I accept and head off to pick up my next ride.  I get to the address and it is one of the larger companies in the area.  I never really thought about it until then but the really are a bunch of large offices in the area where I work.  I pull up, get out to help them with their luggage (another sign that this was not going to be good) and then get back in the car.

Now with Uber, you don’t know where the person wants to go until they get in the car.  So, we all pile in and I hit the navigation button so I can see where we are going.  At thought point, I see the street address first – Broadway.  I thought, Broadway is a pretty common street name it might not be bad.  Then I look at the city and the travel time.  City=NY, Travel time = 1 Hour and 40 mins.  CRAP!!.

Turns out it was 3 people in their 20’s who had traveled in from various parts of the USA and were there for a business meeting.  The entire ride they just talked between themselves complaining about the people they work with.  The only time anyone said anything to me was to ask if they could turn the heat down.  Of course I said, “HELL NO, it’s my car and I am cold. I like the heat where it is at”.  Well, it didn’t come out exactly like that. More like “Sure, no problem”.

So, the rest of the ride was pretty uneventful.  I dropped them off, turned the app off and then got ready to head home.  First thing I did was to call home and let them know I am going to be a “little” late.   I had a lot of time to think on the way and come to the realization that maybe turning the app on so close to work is not such a great idea.

Moral of the story is, if you want to “Succeed in Uber”, you might need to try a little and be ready for the occasional long ride that you might not expect.

Photography by Suzanne Drake Photography

One thought on “How to Succeed in Uber Without Really Trying

  1. Pingback: Sorry Seems to be the “Uber” Word | My Uber Life

Leave a Reply

