Where in the World is Uber San Diego

I think I have mentioned this before, as a driver, when you get a ride, you don’t know where you are going until you pick up a ride.  Then, once they get in the car, you can hit the navigation link and it takes you right to the GPS App on you phone.  I am pretty familiar with the Lehigh Valley, but there is NO WAY, I could drive for Uber if it was not for the GPS option.  Now, that is not to say, the GPS does not have it own issues.

For the most part the GPS has not “steered” me wrong when it came time to drop someone off.   Although, not quite as accurate when picking someone up.  The way it works, is when someone request an Uber, they can either plug in the actual address or, the can select to use their current location.  Then when the Uber driver gets “pinged”, they hit the navigation link (GPS) and it tells there where to go.  That’s when the fun can start.

If someone plugs in the actual address, then it usually works no problem.  When they choose their current location, the GPS can get a little funky.  For example, one time, it told me to pick the person up at 1022 – 1066 Main St.  Way to narrow it down. Its kind of like when the cable company tells you they will be there between 8am and 4pm.   You give a big range so there is less of a chance for error.

There have also been several times, when I got to the address to pick someone up, and the GPS would tell me to pick the person up in the alley behind there house.  Reason this happens is the person requesting the ride was standing in the kitchen or some other room that was towards the back of the house, so the GPS sends you to the closest road to where they were when they requested a ride. Took me about 3 or 4 rides like this before I realized what was going on.  Now, when this happens, I make it a point to stop near the front of the house and then contact the rider to see where they needed to get picked up.

Then there are issues like yesterday when I was driving home from work.  I decided to turn the app on to see if I can get a ride on the way back..  I get pinged and I made the mistake of just accepting it, without really looking at the address.  I hit the navigation link and was on my way following the turn by turn instructions of my handy dandy GPS.  It was not until I was about 2 mins away that I realized the GPS was telling me to pick the person up ON the highway.  At first I thought, OK maybe the person broke down and needed a ride, but as I approached the pick-up location, there are no cars parked on the side of the road.  Turns out the person was in an office building where certain parts of the building were close to the highway.  Apparently the person was in the part of the building close to the highway when the requested the ride.

So the moral of this story is: If you request an Uber and choose “your current location”, if the driver is late, instead of wondering Where in the World is Uber San Diego, just think to yourself, where you were when you requested the ride.

Thanks – Hope everyone has a great Memorial Day weekend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

