Harry Potter and the Uber Stone

In honor of the 20th Anniversary of the 1st Harry Potter book, I am going with the Harry Potter Theme this week.

So I, unlike Harry, was born with no magically powers.   Hagrid did not come to my house on my 11th birthday, and say “you’re an Uber Driver, Kevin”.  So, like every other Muggle when my car gets dirty I need to clean it. I can’t just simply wave my wand and swoosh away all of the dirt from my car.  Nor do we have a house elf that would clean it for me.

I had always thought that I kept my car pretty clean, but when you start driving, you really look at it a lot closer.  I made it a point, before I went out the first time, that I had washed my car and vacuumed the entire thing.  And for the first ride, my car was spotless and I was my usually charming self.  At the end of the ride, I got rated a 5 and I figured this is easy.  Well, that didn’t last long.  For the rest of the night every ride I got rated me a 3 or 4.  I was getting a little self conscience since I was trying to be extra nice to everyone seeing that I was new to all this.  It wasn’t until the next day, when I went to get into my car and happened to look in the back seat and saw an empty soda can.  Apparently the someone from my first ride, had left it back there when they got out of the car.

Another thing I had to worry about was having a new driver in the house.  My daughter, also a Muggle, had gotten her license and started driving my car every so often.  At first, it never really occurred to me that I would need to check the car after she had taken it.  Well, I learned pretty fast that I really need to inspect the car after she was driving too.  For example, there was on Saturday, when I went out driving in the morning.  My daughter had used the car the night before and I didn’t even think about that before I went out.  I woke out, and there was Surge pricing, so I turned the app on.  I got a hit right away without leaving the house.  I quickly grab the keys and headed out.  The first ride I get, the person is very friendly and we are have a nice conversation the whole time.  I drop her off and then head back home since the surge pricing had stopped.  Well when I get home, I check the app to see what I was rated and it turns out she gave me a 1.  WHAT???  I couldn’t believe it.  I go check out the car and it turns out, there was a bunch of garbage on the floor in the back seat.   SMH, well that explains it.

Another time, I pick up this High School kid who just needed a ride to school.  This time I did peek in the backseat real quick and it looked OK.  The kid gets in the car and after a quick hello, his first comment was, “So you have dogs?”.  What, how the hell did he know that.  I let him know that we have 3 and ask if he was allergic thinking maybe his sinuses started bothering him.  Nope, no such luck.  Seems, the night  before, someone had decided to take the dogs in the car to pick up a friend and there was fur all over the back seat.

So, until I get the letter from the wizard owl with my letter to Hogwarts, it looks like I need to continue to inspect my car before every ride.  You never know when a poltergeist, like Jeeves might leave some garbage or dog hair in your car.

Congrats to Harry Potter and the Uber Stone on 20 years.

Photography by Suzanne Drake Photography

Leave a Reply

